• Have something to say? Register Now! and be posting in minutes!

Charcoal or Gas for grilling?

Gooch1034

Fuck off!
Hoopla Cash
$ 1.23
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
I have been cooking for a living for around 20 years. I have always used gas but really don't care for the gas grills that are not industrial. They just don't get hot enough IMO. I cant justify buying a gas grill for more than a few hundred dollars when I can get a cheap charcoal gill and get the heat I want and the added flavor charcoal gives food. It is a pain having to deal with charcoal but I think its worth it. So far I am happy I made the switch to charcoal. Don't tell Hank!

Which do you prefer and why?

Brahmsian

Hoopla Cash
$ 1,100.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
This brings up memories of my father grilling pork chops on the back porch when I was a kid.

He used only charcoal and Open Pit brand barbecue sauce. I'm not sure Open Pitis even made any more
Haven't seen it in grocery stores in ages.

He was only cooking for the 5 members of my immediate family, and at most 2 guests. How much different that
would be from cooking for a busy restaurant I don't know.

Gooch1034

Fuck off!
Hoopla Cash
$ 1.23
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
This brings up memories of my father grilling pork chops on the back porch when I was a kid.

He used only charcoal and Open Pit brand barbecue sauce. I'm not sure Open Pitis even made any more
Haven't seen it in grocery stores in ages.

He was only cooking for the 5 members of my immediate family, and at most 2 guests. How much different that
would be from cooking for a busy restaurant I don't know.

They still make Open Pit and it also reminds me of my childhood. It was around before there were 3,479 different options there are today.