• Have something to say? Register Now! and be posting in minutes!

Favorite Hops to use.

Sleepy T

....zzzz...
Hoopla Cash
$ 500.73
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
Hey everybody, I am pretty new to the homebrewing circles although I have enjoyed and appreciated good beer for quite a while. What are some of your favorite hops to use when brewing (I know alot of it depends on the style)??

I have made a hybrid type of beer (kind of an amber ale/lager) with Goldings and some German finishing hops (Hallertau, Hersbrucker last 5-10 minutes..dry hopped at cold temps for 3 weeks with an ounce of Hallertau) and the hop flavor came out very good and somewhat spicy. I think the Hallertau is why I like BBC beers so much.

Also just transferred a batch of American Pale Ale (with small amounts of Chinook and Horizon for bittering and Cascade for flavoring/aroma) and am dry hopping with an 1/2 ounce of Cascade pells and 1/2 ounce of Ramling Cross whole leafs. Anyone have any experience with RC hops?? It smells v ery different and may be slightly overpowered by the Cascade. Just wanted to go small and see what I came out with.

wartyOne

That guy
Hoopla Cash
$ 1,000.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
Hey everybody, I am pretty new to the homebrewing circles although I have enjoyed and appreciated good beer for quite a while. What are some of your favorite hops to use when brewing (I know alot of it depends on the style)??

I have made a hybrid type of beer (kind of an amber ale/lager) with Goldings and some German finishing hops (Hallertau, Hersbrucker last 5-10 minutes..dry hopped at cold temps for 3 weeks with an ounce of Hallertau) and the hop flavor came out very good and somewhat spicy. I think the Hallertau is why I like BBC beers so much.