• Have something to say? Register Now! and be posting in minutes!

The Birth of Fantasy Football

broncosmitty

Banned in Europe
Hoopla Cash
$ 16,206.54
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
The real founding fathers of fantasy football.

All this football coverage in Santa Clara has reminded me that up to the NE, over 50 years ago, fantasy football was born.

In Levi's Stadium there is the equivalent of a museum display, with the oldest fantasy football artifacts on Earth.
image.jpg
image.jpg
If you're at the Super Bowl today, make sure to stop and check it out.

BigKen

Day to Day
Hoopla Cash
$ 500.68
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
I started a Fantasy Football league in 1986, one year after I started playing Fantasy Baseball. Sadly, Draft Kings and Fan Duel finally killed the league in 2015. Nobody has the patience to maintain a team for a whole year when they can change it weekly.

There were no computer programs for any fantasy sports. I worked at Digital Equipment Corp. in Hudson, MA and some coders put together a program that could sort baseball stats from USA Today every Monday morning. These programs became the basic model for stats services that could be purchased. DEC folded in 1994 and I still play fantasy baseball with the same guys who worked for Digital 30 something years ago. National baseball stats were with a group called Rotisserie. A lot of those guys still are stats geeks and belong to SABR Sports.

For football we had to do Fantasy Football stats by hand from USA Today every Monday and Tuesday sometimes Wednesday.

broncosmitty

Banned in Europe
Hoopla Cash
$ 16,206.54
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
I actually knew that..............lol. My money league has been around for almost 30 years now...........
Mine started as a USFL league.

One year younger than I am, I think.

It'll be Season 34 when we get together on Labor Day Saturday to draft.

broncosmitty

Banned in Europe
Hoopla Cash
$ 16,206.54
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2