• Have something to say? Register Now! and be posting in minutes!

Inherited Runner Rating

calsnowskier

Sarcastic F-wad
Hoopla Cash
$ 1,400.09
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
i have looked for, and have been unable to find, a good IR stat. The Giants bully this year has been HORRIBLE at stranding their inherited runners, and I wanted a better way of demonstrating this, so I started playing with some ideas.

I wanted to basically compare the situation the pitcher inherits vs the situation he leaves, but ONLY in regards to the runners that are not his. His own runners are basically accounted for in WHIP and ERA. The current stats (IR, IRS and IR%) are all just too rudimentary and does not really tell you anything. In these stats, a runner on 1st with 2 outs is statistically the exact same as a runner on 3rd with no outs.

So I this is where I am right now. I have assigned a point total to each situation. A man on 1st in 1 point, a man on 2nd is 2 points and a man on 3rd is 3 points. Then, multiply the total points by the number outs remaining in the inning. For example, a man on 1st with 2 outs is a 1-point situation. A man on 3rd with no outs is a 9-point situation. Bases loaded, 1 out is a 12-point situation. A players rating would be his "left points" divided by his "entered points". If a pitcher enters the game with a runner on 1st, no outs, then gives up a walk and is taken out, he has a rating of 6/3 for the game. His runner on 1st does not factor into this stat.

The "hole" in this rating is allowing runners to score. Based on the points I have assigned to each base at this point, a scored run would only be worth 4 points. Is that enough? And how would the outs multiplier work in that situation? It just doesn't feel right.

I know a bunch of you like creating your own stats. Any ideas on this one? My "requirements" are that I am looking for a rate-state instead of a counting stat, and I want to factor in more than just if the runner scored or not.