• Have something to say? Register Now! and be posting in minutes!

Braun Suspended for the Rest of the Season

calsnowskier

Sarcastic F-wad
Hoopla Cash
$ 1,400.09
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
Smart move for him to accept the penalty this year. the Brewers are going nowhere, so better the take it now and the team can start next year completely fresh.

Not like the situation we were in last year with Melky. Imagine what we could have done last year had we had him. All the wasted opportunities :(

MarcoPolo

Huge member
Hoopla Cash
$ 1,000.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
I read this morning that it was "a deal" between the two. Braun agreed to not appeal, and MLB agreed that it would be for just "the rest of the season" instead of a full 100 days. Just like DAs deal with accused to "aggravated assault with intent" (7-10 years) instead of "manslaughter" (10-15 years).

{I made those numbers up BTW, I am no expert on criminal law.}

I think that MLB wanted to get the equivalent of "a conviction" (punishment) without the risk of losing. Also, this may start an avalanche of deals as MLB can take the position with the players "hey, you know we'll deal. BUT the deal will be for a MINIMUM of 65 days suspended, and that's for the ones we have the least evidence on, like Braun." (I'm not saying it's true, but they can now play hardball, so to speak.)

Also, my cynical side showing here :
1) the Brewers were going nowhere this season, they are in the toilet. Losing Brun makes no difference to them and actually helps them as he is suspended without pay, so they are saving 3-4 million in pay in a crap year.
2) Braun gets a pay raise next year, so taking the suspension this year instead of next year (all 100 games) saves Braun several million.
3) Bud loves the Brewers (the team he used to own).

SFGRTB

Superstitious Fan
Hoopla Cash
$ 1,000.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3